Yakym Leads Nearly 150 Members of Congress in Encouraging Pro-Growth Tax Legislation 

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Rudy Yakym (IN-02) led nearly 150 Members of Congress in sending a letter to House Speaker Mike Johnson encouraging important pro-growth tax changes. The letter, which was signed by 146 U.S. House Members, urges that pro-growth tax provisions be included as part of any end of year legislative package. Specifically, Yakym and the House Members call on extending immediate Research and Development expensing, full capital expensing, and a pro-growth interest deductibility rule.

“I have heard from countless constituents and small businesses about the vital role these tax provisions play in advancing innovation, creating jobs, and maintaining U.S. competitiveness around the globe,” Congressman Yakym said. “I appreciate the support of so many of my colleagues in urging these important provisions be extended so America can remain the best place in the world to hire, invest, and do business.”

A copy of the letter to Speaker Johnson can be found HERE, and the full text of the letter with the list of signers is below: 

Dear Speaker Johnson:

We write to urge you to support legislative action in any upcoming package by the end of the year to support three important, pro-growth tax changes. Specifically, we support extending: immediate R&D expensing, full capital expensing, and a pro-growth interest deductibility rule.

In 2017, House Republicans led the way with the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA), a once-in-a generation tax reform. The TCJA improved America’s competitiveness and solidified the U.S. as the best place in the world to do business. To build upon this achievement, we believe we need urgent legislative action to support, spur, and secure American innovation, jobs, and competitiveness.

Thankfully, Chairman Smith outlined a path forward with his Build It in America Act, which received strong support from the Republican members of the Ways and Means Committee.

While we, the undersigned members, do not sit on Chairman Smith’s committee, we want to fully echo our colleagues in stressing consideration of these pro-growth tax changes by the end of 2023. Failing to act quickly will jeopardize hundreds of thousands of American jobs.


Rudy Yakym, Robert Aderholt, Mark Alford, Rick Allen, Mark Amodei, Kelly Armstrong, Brian Babin, Don Bacon, Jim Baird, Troy Balderson, Andy Barr, Aaron Bean, Cliff Bentz, Jack Bergman, Stephanie Bice, Andy Biggs, Gus Bilirakis, Chairman Mike Bost, Larry Bucshon, Tim Burchett, Michael Burgess, Eric Burlison, Ken Calvert, Kat Cammack, Jerry Carl, Buddy Carter, John Carter, Lori Chavez-DeRemer, Juan Ciscomani, Ben Cline, Andrew Clyde, Chairman Tom Cole, Mike Collins, Chairman James Comer, Dan Crenshaw, Warren Davidson, Monica De La Cruz, Mario Diaz-Balart, Byron Donalds, John Duarte, Jeff Duncan, Neal Dunn, Chuck Edwards, Jake Ellzey, Mike Ezell, Brad Finstad, Scott Fitzgerald, Charles Fleischmann, Mike Flood, Chairwoman Virginia Foxx, Scott Franklin, Russell Fry, Russ Fulcher, Carlos Gimenez, Tony Gonzales, Bob Good, Lance Gooden, Paul Gosar, Garret Graves, Chairman Sam Graves, Glenn Grothman, Chairman Michael Guest, Brett Guthrie, Andy Harris, Diana Harshbarger, Clay Higgins, Ashley Hinson, Erin Houchin, Bill Huizenga, Darrell Issa, Ronny Jackson, John James, Bill Johnson, Dusty Johnson, Chairman Jim Jordan, David Joyce, John Joyce, Trent Kelly, Jen Kiggans, Doug LaMalfa, Robert Latta, Jake LaTurner, Laurel Lee, Debbie Lesko, Barry Loudermilk, Chairman Frank Lucas, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Morgan Luttrell, Tracey Mann, Brian Mast, Chairman Michael McCaul, Lisa McClain, Tom McClintock, Rich McCormick, Dan Meuser, Mary Miller, Max Miller, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Cory Mills, John Moolenaar, Alexander Mooney, Barry Moore, Nathaniel Moran, Troy Nehls, Dan Newhouse, Zachary Nunn, Jay Obernolte, Andrew Ogles, Burgess Owens, Gary Palmer, Greg Pence, August Pfluger, Aumua Amata Radewagen, Hal Rogers, Chairman Mike Rogers, John Rose, David Rouzer, John Rutherford, Maria Salazar, Austin Scott, Keith Self, Pete Sessions, Michael Simpson, Chris Smith, Pete Stauber, Chairman Bryan Steil, Dale Strong, Chairman Glenn Thompson, Tom Tiffany, William Timmons, Chairman Michael Turner, David Valadao, Jeff Van Drew, Derrick Van Orden, Ann Wagner, Tim Walberg, Michael Waltz, Randy Weber, Daniel Webster, Chairman Bruce Westerman, Brandon Williams, Chairman Roger Williams, Joe Wilson, Robert Wittman, Steve Womack, and Ryan Zinke

Recent Posts

May 23, 2024
Rule of Law

Yakym Votes to Protect U.S. Election Integrity

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Rudy Yakym (IN-02) issued the following statement after voting for H.R. 192, legislation that prohibits noncitizens from voting in Washington, D.C. local elections for public office, including any ballot initiative or D.C. referendum. H.R. 192 also repeals the Local Resident Voting Rights Amendment Act of 2022, which unconstitutionally allows non-citizen […]

May 23, 2024
Rule of Law

Yakym Votes to Oppose a Government-Issued Central Bank Digital Currency

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Rudy Yakym (IN-02) issued the following statement after voting for H.R. 5403, the CBDC Anti-Surveillance State Act. This legislation prohibits the Federal Reserve from issuing a central bank digital currency (CBDC) directly to anyone and from using a CBDC as a tool to implement monetary policy and control the economy. Rep. […]

Yakym Introduces “No Debt Forgiveness for SPOILED Students Act”

Washington, D.C. – Last night, Congressman Rudy Yakym (IN-02) introduced the No Debt Forgiveness for SPOILED Students Act, legislation preventing students and faculty who are expelled or fired due to their involvement in pro-Hamas, anti-American protests on college campuses from having their student loans forgiven. Rep. Yakym introduced this legislation in light of the myriad […]